Promoting trustworthy research: can the COVID-19 pandemic change how data is recognized and rewarded when assessing researchers?

Join DORA and the Hong Kong Principles for Assessing Researchers on Thursday, May 13 for a joint webinar on recognizing and rewarding data as we explore how data sharing during the COVID-19 pandemic might bring about new standards and norms for assessing researchers.

Date: Thursday, May 13, 2021
Time:   11:00 AM – 12:00 PM EDT │ 4:00 –5:00 PM BST │6:00 – 7:00 PM EAT

Panelists include:
■ Olavo Amaral, Instituto de Bioquímica Médica Leopoldo de Meis in the Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
■ David Carr, Wellcome, United Kingdom
■ Daniella Lowenberg, Make Data Count, United States
■ Rhoda Wanyenze, Makerere University School of Public Health, Uganda
The discussion will be moderated by Anna Hatch, DORA Program Director and David Moher of the Hong Kong Principles for Assessing Researchers.

In the context of the COVID-19 pandemic, panelists will consider the outcomes of making data available for re-use and openly sharing products of research. In addition, panelists will debate whether the realized benefits of these behaviors can lead to meaningful change in how data is recognized and rewarded when assessing researchers. Last, panelists will examine where and how data fits into the larger relationship between research integrity and researcher assessment. Participants will have the opportunity to engage in the dialogue and ask questions to the panelists. This webinar is free to attend and open to everyone interested in improving research assessment.

Share This

Copy Link to Clipboard

Copy